ARTstor is a digital library that features approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images (and growing) that allows scholars to examine wide-ranging materials from institutions around the world.
a+t architecture publishers, an editorial company independent from any institution or professional group, produces books and magazines about architecture. These publications, accessible digitally, are bilingual (English/Spanish) and distributed worldwide.
Art Magazine Collection Archives contains indexing and full text (including covers and advertisements) for Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), ARTnews (1902-2006) and Art in America (1913-2015). This archive provides a history of collecting over the course of the 20th century, as well as a comprehensive record of fine arts, art history, interior design, decorative arts, and architecture in the 20th and early 21st century.
Berghahn Books is a publisher of scholarly books and academic journals in the humanities and social sciences, with a special focus on social & cultural anthropology, European history, politics, and film & media studies. They offer a number of freely available, open access titles.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth.
"The AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950 includes approximately 3,000 entries extracted from the Art History Research net database Arts+Architecture ProFiles (A+AP). Searches can be made by the name of an architect or firm, gender, and the country in which an architect worked."
CIESIN is a centre within the Earth Institute at Columbia University. CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specialises in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 50,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.
The Electronic Journals Library is a service that facilitates the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online. It comprises 112,475 titles from all areas of research, 27,242 of which are available online only. In addition, 134,365 journals, which are provided by aggregators, are listed. The EZB contains 76,086 journals which are accessible free of charge to anyone.
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries, the Google Books project, and Internet Archive digitization initiatives. Pratt users can now download books and create personal lists through the Libraries' new institutional subscription!
An account is required to view the content. Users can access the site using their existing A&AePortal credentials or create a new account.
The Interaction of Color Complete Digital Edition website offers an entirely new way for users to experience Josef Albers’ original masterwork. The website incorporates interactive features that help students understand the book’s fundamental concepts, study the plates, and experiment with their own designs.
Kaggle, a subsidiary of Google LLC, is an online community of data scientists and machine learning practitioners. Kaggle allows users to find and publish data sets, explore and build models in a web-based data-science environment, work with other data scientists and machine learning engineers, and enter competitions to solve data science challenges.
OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 500,000 high-resolution maps, allowing users to search through map catalogs across a number of institutions. Users can zoom and pan on a world map or type in a place name and instantly get a listing of maps available that most closely match the location visible in the map viewer. Users can also overlay historical maps on top of modern mapping data, giving a historical perspective on how cities and areas developed over time.
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to over 3 million books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all.
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) has carefully curated over 42 collections covering a diverse array of subjects, from Utopian Art and Literature from Modern India to Postcolonial Perspectives in Game Studies, and more.
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is an award-winning, academic-led, diamond open-access publisher of 28 journals based at Birkbeck, University of London. All of the journal articles are subject to rigorous peer review. The scholarship showcases dynamic research in the humanities – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.
Open Square is NYU Press’s platform for publishing and reading open access books. A browser-based reading platform, Open Square enables us to increase the impact of scholarly work by making it freely available in a digital format and to experiment with new ways of presenting scholarship and adding enhanced content to traditionally published books. Open Square features new and recently published titles as well as a growing library of classic backlist publications.
"SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an ""Information Gateway"" between earth sciences and social sciences.
*Please note that users must create an account to download content."
UNICEF’s Data Team is the global go-to for data on children. It leads the collection, validation, analysis, use and communication of the most statistically sound, internationally comparable data on the situation of children and women around the world.
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
Maintained by the International Institute of Social History in the Netherlands, this is an extensive links collection of Web resources on women's history, including women's history institutions and organizations, libraries and archives, journals for women's studies, upcoming conferences, discussion lists, together with subject or region specific listings (e.g. African History, Asian History, Women Artists, Women in Media, Women in Medicine and Nursing, Women in Music, Women in Science and Engineering, Women Writers).