Skip to main content

Art and Design Education

A guide to resources and research in Art and Design Education

Journal Articles and Databases

Much of the research in art and design education is found in journal articles.  To find articles on a particular topic, use the online databases (periodical indexes).  Many articles will be available full-text in the databases, while others will be in print in the Libraries' periodical collection.  There are also journals and articles in our databases to which we don't have full-text access online or in print.  In those cases, you will either want to visit a nearby library to see the article or else request it through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).  More information on ILL can be found on our Interlibrary Loan FAQ page.

Make sure you write down the full citation (including journal title, volume, number, month, year) so that you can find the article within a print or electronic journal and cite it later.  Visit the Citing Sources page of this guide for more information on citation.

 

Useful Databases for Art and Design Education

Education, including art and design education, is a multidisciplinary field that includes, in addition to education, art, and design, a variety of subjects in the social sciences and humanities, such as psychology, sociology, philosophy, history, urban studies, child and cognitive development, economic demographics, multiculturalism, and public policy.  Our list of Education Databases includes the databases most likely to prove useful when researching these disciplines.