Skip to Main Content

Open Access Resources

A guide to free and public online resources covering a wide range of topics.

U

Ubuweb

  • All things avant garde.

UC Press Ebooks Collection, 1982-2004

  • Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Umbra Search

  • A freely available search tool that brings together digitized materials on African American history from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the US.

University of Arizona Theses and Dissertations

  • Over 30,000 theses and dissertations are included in this collection, including the entire digitized backfile from 1895.

University of New Mexico Electronic Theses and Dissertations

  • A digital repository that can also be browsed by subject.

V

Victoria and Albert Museum

  • A digitized collection of V&A items.

Visual Arts Data Service

  • VADS makes available more than 100,000 images across 45 different collections submitted by participating U.K. institutions.

W

Web Gallery of Art

  • An online database of more than 24,000 digital images of European painting and sculpture from the Romanesque period through Romanticism.

Wikimedia Commons

  • Hosts more than 6 million media files contributed to the site by users.

Wikimedia Free Image Resources

  • List of Web sources of images under free licenses.

Wikimedia Public Domain Image Resources

  • List of sources of public domain images on the Web

William J. Hill Texas Artisans and Artists Archive

  • This database comprises of biographies and primary source materials on 19th century, Texas artisans & artists in ceramics, furniture, textiles, metalworks, photographs, paintings, and works on paper.

Women Film Pioneers Project (WFPP)

  • This digital publication and scholarly resource publishes original scholarship on women who worked around the world as directors, screenwriters, editors and more during the silent film era.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository

  • These are journal articles published in World Bank journals as well as externally by World Bank authors.

World Digital Library

  • Offers historically significant primary documents (including books, manuscripts, and still and motion pictures) from all inhabited regions of the world in high-quality digital format.

WorldImages

  • Provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project, containing approximately 100,000 images.

Y

Yale University Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library

  • Offers more than 250,000 digitized images of photographs, textual documents, illuminated manuscripts, maps, works of art, and books in the Beinecke’s collections.