Skip to Main Content

Open Access Resources

A guide to free and public online resources covering a wide range of topics.

P

Paris Review: The Interviews

  • Collection of featured interviews from the Paris Review spanning the 1950s to most recent issues.

Persuasive Cartography: The PJ Mode Collection

  • The PJ Mode collection of the Cornell University Libraries Division of Rare & Manuscript Maps contains more than 800 ‚Äč maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs rather than to communicate geographic information.

Pew Research Center

  • Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Their website publishes articles and reports based on their research and makes their datasets and survey questions freely available with account registration among other resources.

Punctum Books

  • An open-access publisher dedicated to unconventional scholarly work.

R

Rare Materials in the Metropolitan Museum of Art Libraries

  • This collection contains rare, valuable, and important works held in the Thomas J. Watson Library and other curatorial department libraries at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Rhizome ArtBase

  • An archive of over 2,200 born-digital artworks to-date. Primarily focused on net art but also including artworks that employ software, code, moving images, games, websites and browsers.

RISM Online Catalog of Musical Sources

  • Contains 700,000 entries, mainly from Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600. Most of these originated between 1600 and 1850.

S

Smithsonian Archives Image Gallery

  • A single interface for the browsing and searching of the vast holdings of the Smithsonian’s many sub-institutions, including the National Museum of the American Indian, the Cooper-Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum, and National Anthropological Archives.

SpringerOpen

  • Multidisciplinary journals.

Stanford University Electronic Theses and Dissertations

  • Over 25,000 digital theses and dissertations from Stanford University.

T

Thesaurus for Graphic Materials

  • A substantial body of terms for the subject, genre and format indexing of pictorial materials.