Skip to main content

Open Access Resources

A guide to free and public online resources covering a wide range of topics.

L

Library of Congress, Online Catalog of the Prints and Photographs Division

  • A massive collection of printed and photographed materials.

Life Magazine Photo Archive

  • Google hosts millions of prints and photographs from Life Magazine’s photography archive.

LIS Scholarship Archive

  • A platform for Library and Information Science workers, students, and others to make their work open and discoverable.

Luna Commons

  • Hosts a number of freely available collections from participating institutions.

M

Making of America

  • A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction from the collections of Cornell University and the University of Michigan.

Manuscript Collections

  • Digitized important collections of original manuscripts owned by The Metropolitan Museum of Art, including dealers' archives, artists' sketchbooks and correspondence, archaeologists' field notes, and papers of former Museum officials.

Mendeley--Research Papers

  • Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

Met Museum of Art Publications

  • A portal to The Met's comprehensive publishing program with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.

Metropolitan Museum of Art

  • The full collection of the Met, digitized.

Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

  • Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.

Morgan Library and Museum Collection

  • Digital images of many of the manuscripts and objects in its holdings.

Museum of Modern Art

  • More than 30,000 images of works from its collection available for browsing and searching online.

N

National Screening Room

  • Showcases the riches of the Library of Congress' vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide. Offers a broad range of historical and cultural documents.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

  • Provides information for global electronic theses and dissertations, whether they are OA or not. Also browsable via the Global ETD Search.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

  • Free and open access to more than 700,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library’s vast collections and include illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, posters, prints, photographs, and more.

Numeridanse

  • A multimedia dance platform. It offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Every single genre, style and form is showcased here.

NYC Archeological Repository

  • A digital collection of the city's archaeological artifacts from over 32 sites within New York City.

O

OAIster

  • Contains digital resources from open archive collections. Accessible via WorldCat.

Online Archive of California

  • Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.

Open Access Button

  • Free, legal research articles delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

  • A search engine with almost 5 million indexed theses and dissertations from over 1100 institutions.

Open Library Ebooks

  • Access to over a million free eBooks available for reading online.

Open Music Library

  • Journal articles, videos and music scores from the world's best digital collections.

Open Thesis

  • A repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents.

Oxford University Digital Collections

  • Oxford University offers a number of its special collections, particularly those from the Bodleian Library, in digital form. Collections are disparate in subject, from Athenian pottery to 18th- and 19th century board games.