Skip to main content

Exhibitions in the Library

An archival history and guide to current exhibitions at the Pratt Brooklyn Campus Library

About the Exhibition

The Pratt Institute Libraries Archives, Rare Book, and Special Collections contain roughly 9,000 volumes of broad content spanning from the 15th through the 21st century. The collections include pop-up books, artists' books, oversized volumes on fashion, architecture, decorative arts, fine arts, design and photography, and ephemera. These collections are accessible to all members of the Pratt community.

This exhibit showcases these unique collections for research, inspiration, and interest.

About the Collections

The Rare Books Room includes around 3,000 volumes. Its holdings span the 15th century to the early 20th century and reflect a wide variety of subject areas, such as incunables, illustrated books, children's books, and books on local history. Of special interest are the Edward Curtis books and portfolios.  

The Special Collections is currently composed of over 6000 volumes that include 679 pop-ups, 639 artists' books, over 1,000 oversized volumes, and 3,000 regular books.  In addition there are ephemeral holdings such as post cards, book plates, fashion plates, art history black-and-white mounted photographs, and portfolios. The main subject areas include: fashion, architecture, decorative arts, fine art and photography, and span from the 18th through the 21st centuries.

The Pratt Institute Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to a wide variety of historical materials, including photographs, records, and publications that document the history and development of Pratt Institute and its various schools, departments, programs, and social activities, as well as the contributions of individuals and organizations associated with Pratt. Documents found in the Archives date from 1848 to the present, and include many items pertaining to Pratt's founding in 1887.

Books from the Exhibit

These books, and other items from our Special Collections, may be viewed in person at the Pratt Institute Brooklyn Library.

Gallery

Exhibit Poster