LGBTQ+ Resource Guide

Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender individuals have special health concerns besides the usual ones that affect most people. On this page you'll find information about these specific health issues.

People who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender have a variety of health needs. Find networks, services, and health clinics by state available to address those needs.

Sets standards for promoting equitable and inclusive care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer patients and their families

LGBT people suffer from stigma related health issues like smoking or mental health problems. When we fear a chilly welcome we avoid doctors, which means we also don't get well-person care like cancer screenings. The first step in breaking this chain is getting LGBT people in regular healthcare; this tool can help you be confident of your rights.

The National LGBT Health Education Center provides educational programs, resources, and consultation to health care organizations with the goal of optimizing quality, cost-effective health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people.

Find information on your rights in insurance coverage and treatment, resources for addressing discrimination, federal protections, and other additional resources.

Resources for transgender and gender nonconforming people: gender-affirming medical care, HIV prevention and treatment, suicide prevention and crisis intervention, services for trans youth, and more.

Callen-Lorde Community Health Center provides sensitive, quality health care and related services targeted to New York’s lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender communities — in all their diversity — regardless of ability to pay. To further this mission, Callen-Lorde promotes health education and wellness, and advocates for LGBTQ health issues.

Apicha Community Health Center’s mission is to provide affordable community health care for underserved or ‘otherized’ people living in the New York City boroughs and on the lower east side of Manhattan.
Apicha offers sliding scale payments options to make sure everyone can receive quality healthcare, on their budget.

Metropolitan Hospital's Comprehensive LGBT Health Center is designed to focus on the health needs and disparities specific to the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.

For nearly three decades, Harlem United has changed lives by helping marginalized communities improve their health and well-being through compassionate, client-centered care.

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) National Help Center, founded in 1996, is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization that provides vital peer-support, community connections and resource information to people with questions regarding sexual orientation and/or gender identity.

AVP provides direct client services to LGBTQ & HIV-affected survivors of all forms of violence, including hate violence, intimate partner violence, sexual violence, pick-up violence, and institutional violence in all five boroughs of New York City.

QMHI is a peer-based support network for LGBTQ New Yorkers experiencing mental health challenges.

A member directory of the Association of LGBTQ Psychiatrists

The Lesbian Therapists Referral Network was founded in 1994 with the mission to provide quality psychotherapy services to members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) communities.

Gaylesta: The Psychotherapist Association for Gender and Sexual Diversity, was founded in 1987, established as an unincorporated association in 1988, and incorporated as a non-profit organization in 1997. Since this beginning, Gaylesta has grown to include over 300 mental health professionals.

Streetwise and Safe (SAS) is a NYC-based organization which focuses on LGBTQ youth of color's experiences of profiling, policing, and criminalization.

Identity House is a non-profit, all-volunteer organization that provides Peer Counseling, Group Support, and Therapy Referrals to members of the LGBTQ community who are struggling with issues of sexuality, gender identity, alienation, relationships, and family.

The Brooklyn Community Pride Center provides services and support to the borough’s LGBTQ+ community through original programming and partnerships with other organizations.

The Audre Lorde Project is a Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Two Spirit, Trans and Gender Non Conforming People of Color center for community organizing, focusing on the New York City area.

The Center fosters a welcoming environment where everyone is celebrated for who they are. We offer the LGBTQ communities of NYC advocacy, health and wellness programs; arts, entertainment and cultural events; recovery, parenthood and family support services.

The mission of the Rainbow Heights Club is to bring innovative, affirming, and effective treatment advocacy and support services to LGBTQ people living with mental illness provided in an atmosphere of hope, recovery, and partnership.