Skip to main content

Unlocking Local Public Library Collections

This guide will walk you through signing up for an e-library card from NYPL, BPL, and QL, and will highlight a number of online resources as well as "Grab & Go" services available now from each library system.

Limited Lobby Services from BPL

BPL is currently offering limited lobby service in over a dozen libraries throughout Kings County, allowing patrons to access certain branches for quick pickups and returns of physical library materials. Review BPL's Coronavirus Updates page for more information on participating branches, health and safety protocols, and the process of requesting holds and returning books. This page will be continuously updated as BPL works to expand physical services over time. 

Brooklyn Public Library Online Collections: Highlights

E-Books & Audiobooks: Brooklyn Public Library offers free access to over 400,000 e-Books, magazines, and audiobooks available on your phone, Kindle, tablet, or computer. Not sure what to read next? BPL offers customized reading recommendations based on your reading history and the kinds of books you most enjoy. 

Business & Career Services: Unemployment and job loss are realities for many people right now. With this in mind, BPL provides resume and career help by email, lists of job training programs and organizations currently hiring, information on managing personal finances, and financial aid resources for students and families. 

Brooklyn Historical Collection: This collection documents Brooklyn's rich social and cultural history from pre-colonial times to the present. Browse old photographs, books, newspapers, maps, prints, posters, and more. BPL's Digital Collections also provides access to historical postcards, photography collections, and dozens of illustrated maps. With the recent merging of BPL and Brooklyn Historical Society, these collections are likely only to keep growing in the coming months. 

Language Learning Resources: Looking to learn a new language or brush up on old skills? Brooklyn Public Library offers over 50 free language learning courses through Mango Languages and Little Pim. 

In addition to these subject-specific resources, BPL offers a comprehensive list of their online collections, perfect for browsing and discovery. A recent episode of BPL's "Borrowed" podcast also describes many of the virtual resources available now from this library system.