This is the "Business Resources" page of the "Creative Entrepreneurship" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Creative Entrepreneurship  

This guide will assist creatives in locating materials related to entrepreneurship and business.
Last Updated: Feb 23, 2015 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/unlisted Print Guide RSS Updates

Business Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Web Sites

  • Bplans
    This site offers free samples of business plans as well as articles related to starting and running a business.
  • e-corner
    Podcasts care of Stanford University's Entrepreneurship Corner.
  • Nielsen Wire
    This site offers business news articles as well as reports on consumer characteristics & market trends.
  • Small Business Trends
    This award-winning site is dedicated to providing entrepreneurs and small business owners news and advice that is key to the small business market. Also check out this site's Small Biz Experts section, which lists successful entrepreneurs who share their knowledge and experience.

Suggest a Resource

Is there a book, Web site, or something else that you think should be included here?

Let us know! Click on "Submit" below, and the Libraries will consider your suggestion. Thanks!

Using Business Resources

For the creative entrepreneur, business resources might seem a bit alien, even intimidating. With some exploration, you will find them easy to use and invaluable to your business pursuits.

The Pratt Libraries and local NYC libraries offer a number of essential resources that will assist you in your entrepreneurial pursuits. There are also a number of free, excellent business resources via the World Wide Web.

This guide will point you toward business resources on-campus at Pratt, locally in NYC and beyond.

Know Your Competition: Business Databases

The following business-specific databases are available via the Pratt Libraries' Web site.

For access to additional databases, visit the Pratt Libraries' A-Z Databases list.

Know Your Clientele: Using Demographic Resources

The following demographic resources, provided by federal and state governments, can help you learn about your clientele in order to better reach them and meet their needs.

These types of resources include information such as income, community size, consumer characteristics and other helpful information. 

  • American Factfinder
    This resource includes data from multiple censuses and surveys conducted by the U.S. government. It provides social and economic information for various communities. Users may also search within specific censuses and surveys, depending on topical interests.
  • Consumer Expenditure Survey
    Compiled by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the CE Survey offers information about the buying habits of consumers in the U.S.
  • NYC Data
    This resource offers local demographic, economic and social information for NYC, and is provided by the Zicklin School of Business, Weissman Center for International Business, Baruch College, CUNY.
  • SBA Profiles
    The U.S. Small Business Association (SBA) offers profile reports on small businesses as well as national-level data.

The Business Library of NYPL

Our local New York Public Library (NYPL) has a branch devoted to business research.

The Science, Industry and Business Library (SIBL) of NYPL offers business-specific research assistance and resources including:

-librarian help

-reference books

-business databases (click for list)

-free workshops & classes

NYC Small Business Resource Center

The NYC Small Business Resource Center via the NYPL Science, Industry and Business Library offers a number of tools for those wanting to learn more about starting and maintaining a business.

SCORE: Free Business Counseling c/o NYPL SIBL

SCORE, indeed! SCORE volunteers offer free business counseling for entrepreneurs and small businesses on the following topics:

-Preparing a business plan

-Securing funding

-Selecting a legal structure

-Marketing & sales strategies

-Leveraging blogs, social networks & a Web site

-Learning the ins and outs of a particular business

-Understanding day-to-day operations

-Managing business operations and personnel

-Learning about not-for-profit organizations

-Buying or selling a business

For locations of SCORE services, visit the SCORE Web page c/o the NYPL SIBL library.

SCORE is a non-profit association affiliated with the Small Business Administration. 

 

Entrepreneurship @ Pratt!

Certificate in Design Entrepreneurship (CDE)

Pratt offers a certificate program for designers who want to establish their own business. The CDE is offered through Pratt's Center for Sustainable Design Studies (CSDS).

Students in the CDE program choose a focus from the following: fashion, footwear, jewelry, product design, social innovation or design consulting.

 

BF+DA

Brooklyn Fashion and Design Accelerator (BF+DA)

Launched by Pratt Institute in October of 2013, the Brooklyn Fashion and Design Accelerator (BF+DA) provides graduates in fashion, accessory and product design with space and support in establishing start-ups.  Once renovations are complete, the BF+DA will provide 15,000 square feet of studio space for 30 design-oriented candidates in the former Pfizer building in Williamsburg.

Read more about this exciting initiative via Pratt's Press pages, or via the Wall Street Journal article, Fashion's New Horizons.

Get Help w/Research

  • Chat-w/-A-Librarian
    Chat online with a librarian (Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm).
  • Ask-A-Librarian
    Call, email, or visit our Reference Desk :)

    Brooklyn: (718) 636-3704

    Manhattan: (212) 647-7539

    Email: libref@pratt.edu

    Location: The Reference Desk is on the 1st Floor of the Brooklyn Library.

Business News Sources

Business-specific news sources are important for keeping abreast of trends and updates across industries and markets.

 

Was This Guide Helpful?




Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip