This is the "Home" page of the "Dinosaurs at Pratt Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dinosaurs at Pratt Libraries  

A PrattQuest guide to dinosaurs in the Pratt collection.
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/prattquest2012 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Reference Collection

If you're not sure where to begin your research or just want a general introduction to a topic, the reference collection (located on the first floor next to the reference desk) is a good place to start.

Cover Art
Dinosaurs - Donald F. Glut
Call Number: Brooklyn Reference 567.91 G567D
ISBN: 0899509177
Publication Date: 1997-07-01

Cover Art
Mammals from the Age of Dinosaurs - Zofia Kielan-Jaworowska; Zhe-Xi Luo; Richard L. Cifelli
Call Number: Brooklyn Reference 569 K47
ISBN: 0231119186
Publication Date: 2004-11-17

 

Articles

Jurassic Park Theme Park, Wikimedia Commons

Gale Academic OneFile

What: Broad and general coverage includes newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals; a good place to begin your search if you're not sure of which subject database to use.

Sample article: Dalton, Rex. "Fresh doubts over T. rex chicken link." Nature 454.7208 (2008): 1035. (link)

JSTOR

What: Peer-reviewed articles from core journals in the humanities and social sciences; this database has good depth but little very recent content (most titles exclude latest 3-5 years.)

Sample article: Baird, Robert. "Animalizing "Jurassic Park's" Dinosaurs: Blockbuster Schemata and Cross-Cultural Cognition in the Threat Scene." Cinema Journal 37.4 (1998): 82-103. (link)

ScienceDirect

What: Peer-reviewed scientific journal articles in social and behavioral sciences

Sample article: Silber, Sherman. "Human male infertility, the Y chromosome, and dinosaur extinction." Middle East Fertility Society Journal 16.2 (2011): 114-120. (link)

Project MUSE What: Sample article: Marshall, Nancy Rose. "A Dim World, Where Monsters Dwell: The Spatial Time of the Sydenham Crystal Palace Dinosaur Park." Victorian Studies 49.2 (2007): 286-301. (link)

 

Digital Images


Gertie the Dinosaur, available on Artstor

Artstor

Prints and Photographs at the Library of Congress

 

Multimedia

You can search for videos in our catalog using the advanced search options, and check them out downstairs in Multimedia Services.

 

Pop-up Books

The Pratt Libraries have lots of special collections, including zines, artists' books, and pop-up books. Below are a few dinosaur-related pop-up books in our collection; you can access these books by filling out a call slip at the reference desk. You can browse these special collections using the advanced search option in the Pratt catalog.

Dinosaurs: Encyclopedia Prehistorica - Matthew Reinhart (Illustrator); Robert Sabuda (Illustrator)
Call Number: Pop-up Books 745.5928 S118D
ISBN: 0763622281
Publication Date: 2005-07-12

Baby Brontosaurus - Robert Cremins; Dick Dudley
Call Number: Pop-up Books 745.5928 D847B
ISBN: 0803707266
Publication Date: 1989-09-29

Baby Tyrannosaurs Rex - Robert Cremins; Dick Dudley
Call Number: Pop-up Books 745.5928 D847BABYT
ISBN: 0803707312
Publication Date: 1989-09-29

 

From the stacks

Cover Art
Reign of the Dinosaurs - Jean-Guy Michard
Call Number: 567.91 M621
ISBN: 0810928086
Publication Date: 1992-03-30

Cover Art
The Great Dinosaur Hunters and Their Discoveries - Edwin H. Colbert
Call Number: 567.91 C684
ISBN: 0486247015
Publication Date: 1984-08-01

Cover Art
Dinosaur in a Haystack - Stephen Jay Gould
Call Number: 575 G698
ISBN: 0517703939
Publication Date: 1995-12-12

Cover Art
Written in stone : evolution, the fossil record, and our place in nature - Brian Switek
Call Number: 599.93 S979
ISBN: 9781934137291
Publication Date: 2010-11-30

More Information

Citing Sources
by Cheryl Costello, Bill McMillin, Maggie Portis, Paul Schlotthauer, Holly Wilson - Last Updated Oct 19, 2012
How to cite sources in different formats
104 views this year
Pop-Up Books
by Cheryl Costello, Bill McMillin, Maggie Portis - Last Updated Apr 22, 2014
Because books are better in 3-D.
39 views this year
Digital Image Resources at the Pratt Institute Libraries
by Johanna Bauman - Last Updated Jan 13, 2017
530 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip