This is the "Home" page of the "LGBTQIA Pride Month Exhibit" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LGBTQIA Pride Month Exhibit  

June, 2013
Last Updated: Jun 13, 2013 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/lgbtqiaprideexhibit Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LGBTQIA Pride Month

The Pratt Manhattan Campus Library presents an exhibit celebrating

LGBTQIA Pride Month!

June, 2013

PMC Library, 4th Floor 

In celebration of Pride Month, the PMC Library would like to showcase some books from our collection, which focus on issues of sexuality, identity and the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning, Intersex and Ally community.

Pride events are held in June to commemorate the anniversary of the Stonewall Rebellion in New York City on June 28, 1969, which is historically considered to be the birth of the modern LGBT movement. (www.GLAAD.org, 2009)

Photo courtesy of Ludovic Bertron via Wikicommons

 

Sexuality in Culture and Media

Cover Art
Out in the Country - Mary L. Gray
Call Number: 306.76608 G781
ISBN: 9780814731932
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
"Regarding youth, media, and queer visibility in rural America"

Cover Art
LGBT Identity and Online New Media - Christopher Pullen (Editor); Margaret Cooper (Editor)
Call Number: 306.760905 L1115
ISBN: 9780415998673
Publication Date: 2010-04-14

Cover Art
Space, Place, and Sex - Geographies of Sexualities - Robyn Longhurst; Lynda Johnston
Call Number: 306.701 J72
ISBN: 9780742555129
Publication Date: 2009-11-16
“This accessible and engaging book provides a critical geography of sex and sexuality from the body to the globe…Drawing on a diverse array of historical and contemporary examples, the authors argue convincingly that sexual politics permeate all places and spaces at every level of geographical scale. Thus, they illustrate, sexuality affects the way people live in and interact with space and place, as space and place in turn affect people’s sexuality.”
-Back Cover

Cover Art
The Invention of Heterosexual Culture - Louis-Georges Tin
Call Number: 306.764 T587
ISBN: 9780262017701
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
“Heterosexuality is celebrated…and at the same time taken for granted. And yet, in premodern Europe heterosexuality was perceived as an alternative culture. The practice of heterosexuality may have been standard, but the symbolic primacy of the heterosexual couple was not. Tin maps the emergence of heterosexual culture in Western Europe and the significant resistance to it from feudal lords, church fathers, and the medical profession.” -Back cover

Cover Art
Secret Historian - Justin Spring
Call Number: 813 S849S
ISBN: 9780374281342
Publication Date: 2010-08-17
Drawn from previously lost journals and archival papers, this sweeping biography of Samuel Steward depicts a man of many identities. Secret Historian is a moving portrait of homosexual life long before Stonewall and gay liberation.

 

Sexuality and the Law

Cover Art
Hiding from Humanity - Martha Craven Nussbaum
Call Number: 340.19 N975
ISBN: 9780691095264
Publication Date: 2004-03-08
“This powerful and elegantly written book, by one of America’s most influential philosophers, presents a critique of the role that shame and disgust play in our individual and social lives and, in particular, the law.” -From the publisher

Cover Art
Speaking Out! Reflections on Law, Liberty and Justice - Geoffrey Stone
Call Number: 342.73085 S877
ISBN: 9780557707812
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
"Reflections on law, liberty and justice"

 

Queer Fiction

Cover Art
The Well of Loneliness - Radclyffe Hall
Call Number: HALL c.2
ISBN: 0385416091
Publication Date: 1990-10-18
A 1928 groundbreaking novel about love between two British women, whose happiness is marred by societal isolation and rejection. Considered an “unutterable putrefaction” and “contagion,” the novel went on trial in England and, despite protest from authors such as Virginia Woolf and E.M. Forster, the book was banned until 1949. Since then, it has been continuously in print.

This timeless portrayal of lesbian love has become a classic and its treatment of sexuality and gender continues to inspire study and debate.

Cover Art
Funny Boy - Shyam Selvadurai
Call Number: SELVADURAI
ISBN: 015600500X
Publication Date: 1997-06-19
This semi-autobiographical novel portrays the coming-of-age of Arjie, a young Sri Lankan boy. Amongst the Tamil-Sinhalese conflicts in his homeland, Arjie becomes aware of his sexual awakening and begins to understand his queer identity.

Cover Art
Black Like Us - Devon W. Carbado (Editor); Dwight A. McBride (Editor); Donald Weise (Editor); Evelyn C. White (Foreword by)
Call Number: BLACK LIKE US
ISBN: 1573441082
Publication Date: 2002-05-28
"A century of lesbian, gay and bisexual African American fiction"

 

The LGBTQIA Community and the Library

Cover Art
Gay and Lesbian Library Service - Cal Gough (Editor); Ellen Greenblatt (Editor); Sanford Berman (Foreword by)
Call Number: 026.305 G285
ISBN: 089950535X
Publication Date: 1990-11-01
The classic (and possibly first) comprehensive guide to serving gay and lesbian library patrons. Published in 1990, this important text includes chapters on collection development, cataloging, patron services and much more. Its worth picking up for its appendices alone!

Cover Art
Liberating Minds - Norman G. Kester (Editor); Cal Gough (Foreword by)
Call Number: 020.86 L695
ISBN: 0786403632
Publication Date: 1997-04-01
"The stories and professional lives of gay, lesbian, and bisexual librarians and their advocates"

Cover Art
Serving LGBTIQ Library and Archives Users - Ellen Greenblatt (Editor)
Call Number: 027.63 S492
ISBN: 9780786448944
Publication Date: 2010-12-07
"Essays on Outreach, Service, Collections and Access"

Cover Art
Lesbian and Gay Voices - Frances Ann Day; Nancy Garden (Foreword by)
Call Number: 028.52 D273
ISBN: 0313311625
Publication Date: 2000-06-30
"An annotated bibliography and guide to literature for children and young adults"

Cover Art
Daring to Find Our Names - James V. Carmichael
Call Number: 020.86 D218
ISBN: 0313299633
Publication Date: 1998-08-30
“The papers gathered here stem from a program presented at the 1995 ALA Annual Conference. They address such topics as stereotyping within librarianship, the gay purge at the Library of Congress in the 1950s, and how Liberating Minds (1997), a collection of librarians' coming-out stories, was compiled. Five papers take up the history of what is now called the Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Task Force of ALA; four more discuss the role of "lesbigay" (i.e., lesbian, bisexual, and gay male) libraries and archives in preserving "lesbigay" history; and the book's final section presents the experiences of three openly gay librarians.” -From Edward Swanson’s review for Booklist

Cover Art
Sometimes You Have to Make Your Own History - Lyz Bly (Editor); Kelly Wooten (Editor)
Call Number: 305.4209 M235
ISBN: 9781936117130
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
"Documenting feminist and queer activism in the 21st century"

Cover Art
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Literature - Ellen Bosman; John P. Bradford; Robert B. Ridinger
Call Number: 016.8108 B743
ISBN: 9781591581949
Publication Date: 2008-06-30

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip