This is the "Contemporary Latin American Art" page of the "Latin American Art " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American Art  

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/latinamericanart Print Guide RSS Updates

Contemporary Latin American Art Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Books at Pratt

Here are a few books available at the Pratt library that will give you an efficient introduction to the varied field of contemporary Latin American art. 

Cover Art
Defining Latin American Art - Dorothy Chaplik
Call Number: 709.8 C463
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Drawing the Line - Oriana Baddeley; Valerie Fraser
Call Number: 709.8 B132
Publication Date: 1989

Cover Art
ICAA Versions and Inversions - Mari C. Ramirez
Call Number: 709.8 V563
Publication Date: 2006


Cover Art
Latin American Art of the 20th Century - Edward Lucie-Smith
Call Number: 709.8 L937
Publication Date: 2004

Cover Art
Muralism without Walls - Anna Indych-Lopez
Call Number: 751.73097 I42
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
The Idea of Latin America - Walter D. Mignolo
Call Number: 980 M636
Publication Date: 1991

 

About Latin American Art

Salas, Davila. Jardin de Ensuenos (Own work) [CC-BY-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

When embarking on research in Latin American art or literature, it is important to know the different identifiers used to describe people from Latin American countries. The term 'Latin American' is an umbrella term for people in most Spanish-speaking countries and some non-Spanish-speaking countries like Brazil. Regions included in Latin America are Mexico, Central America, South America and the Carribbean Islands. The term is controversial in it's efficacy of organization, which is a significant detail to note when conducting research. The term traverses continents, languages, ethnicities, and race. In addition, art generated from Latin America does not produce a common style or ideology, so to look at art organized around the term Latin American Art is simply an exercise in historical regional aggregation. The Book The Idea of Latin America by Walter Mignolo (Available at Pratt) helps elucidate the history and meaning of the concept "Latin America."

 

Selected Exhibition Catalogues of Latin American Art at Pratt

Exhibition catalogues can help shed light on how certain works relate to bigger art movements or what they mean in relation to work produced before them etc. Here are a few books showing how Latin American art has been curated in the last 30 years.

Cover Art
Hispanic Art in the United States - John Beardsley; Jane Livingston; Octavio Paz Lozano
Call Number: 709.73 B3685
Publication Date: 1987
An important exhibition that attempted to bring together the best 30 painters and sculptors of Hispanic heritage working at the time.

Cover Art
Latin American Artists of the Twentieth Century - Waldo Rasmussen; Elizabeth Ferrer; Fatima Bercht
Call Number: 709.8 A791
Publication Date: 1993
This book is an illustrated volume of selected works from an exhibition held at the MOMA. There are also 13 essays written by art historians on contemporary Latin American art and artists.

Cover Art
Mexico: Splendors of Thirty Centuries - Octavio Paz Lozano
Call Number: 709.72 M611
Publication Date: 1990
A highly criticized traveling exhibition attempting to show the development of Mexican art and history over thirty centuries.

Cover Art
The S files / El Museo del Barrio, New York City
Call Number: 709.8 S11 2000
Publication Date: 2011
Museo del Barrio's 6th biennial showcasing work from 75 artists working in the New York City area.

Cover Art
Transactions
Call Number: 709.8 T772
Publication Date: 2006
An exhibition from the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego that highlighted the work of 48 contemporary Latin American artists.

Cover Art
Voces y Visiones - Fatima Bercht; Deborah Cullen
Call Number: 708.1471 M9859
Publication Date: 2003
Highlights from Museo del Barrio's permanent collection.

Online Resources including Digital Archives

Many online digital archives provide access to photographs, artists documents, essays and letters, also known as primary resources. Below is a list of online archives that contain documents related to contemporary Latin American art.

  • Archives of American Art
    Latino and Latin American archives at the Smithsonian's Archives of American Art
  • Center for Puerto Rican Studies
    This center aims to document the history and culture of Puerto Ricans in the U.S. and on the island. There is a digital photo archive as well as digitized artists' papers and online exhibitions.
  • Documents of 20th Century Latin American & Latino Artists
    This is a growing digital archive of 20th century Latino and Latin American artists' papers. They include seminal essays, publications, letters and more of documents related to the discussion of an array of Latin American art and movements.
  • MOMA Latino Archives
    A survey list of Latino and Latin American archives compiled by MOMA IN 2006.
  • Smithsonian Latino Center
    This is a terrific resource for Latino and Latin American collections. You can explore the exhibitions they have on view or you can see virtual exhibitions online. There is also a list of museums around the country with significant Latino or Latin American collections.

Latino/a Museums & Galleries in NYC

Events and Art Fairs

  • Pinta Art Fair
    A yearly art fair exhibiting Latin American Art for sale. This year's fair will be November 14 through 17.

Databases

If you're looking for specific information on a particular topic or maybe an exhibition review, articles in periodicals are probably your best bet. You can find citations for articles and reviews in any of the databases below on the Pratt Library's list of databases. 

 

Created By:

Barbara Calderón-Douglass

Evening and Weekend Public Services Assistant 

Contact Info: barbarad17@gmail.com   

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip