This is the "Start Here" page of the "HA 115 (Survey I): Themes in Art & Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HA 115 (Survey I): Themes in Art & Culture  

This guide will help you perform like a ROCK STAR in class! Learn how to brainstorm search terms, find images, locate books and articles, cite sources, avoid plagiarism & more!
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2015 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/ha115 Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Resources Help

Reference books help big-time.

It pays to start your research with reference resources because they . . .

- offer introductory information
- explain background of topic
- highlight & define key terms
- assist in formulating a topic
- help to envision the path(s) your research can take

Browse call number areas 700-709 of the Reference Collection for reference books on art.

Click on image or title to view item availability in PrattCat.

Cover Art
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Brooklyn Reference 700.9 A792

Cover Art
Discovering the Great Masters
Brooklyn Reference 759 C915


Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Brooklyn Reference 703 O988

 

Textbook for HA 115: Art, A Brief History by Stokstad

The Pratt Libraries offer print copies of Art: A Brief History by Stokstad.

Click on image or title to view item availability in PrattCat.

For accessing digital images from this textbook, go to the "Images" tab of this guide for directions.

Cover Art
Art: A Brief History - Stokstad
Brooklyn Reference 709 S874ART
Brooklyn Stacks 709 S874ART (c.2)
Brooklyn Stacks 709 S874ART (c.3)

 

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online allows you to search up to four art reference resources at once. Use these e-resources to begin your research, as they will provide good introductory information for your topic. Additionally, they will provide information for art terms throughout the research process.

Oxford Art Online Contains:

1. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998)
“This encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society; it is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts – from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture. Of special interest are in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions and theories of art.” (Oxford Art Online)

2. Grove Art Online Dictionary (1996)
“Grove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) – the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries….Grove Art Online [since 2005] offers over 5,000 searchable and embedded art images, maps, and line drawings.” (Oxford Art Online)

3. The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001)
“The Oxford Companion to Western Art contains more than 2,600 entries, and provides discriminating and reliable coverage of over 1,700 artists and their work. Articles give fresh treatment to topics of contemporary interest, including art movements, theory, and criticism. In addition to thorough regional and cultural surveys, this publication lists all relevant museums and galleries under the city of their location, such as Barcelona and Moscow. In Oxford Art Online, these entries are fully searchable and updated periodically with new death dates and corrections.” (Oxford Art Online)

4. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
“The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms provides 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts. The quick reference format includes materials, techniques, and foreign terms essential for navigating the current visual climate. Featuring clear definitions of movements and media, from Baroque to Minimalism, aquatint to raku, and canvas to Venetian glass, this publication provides succinct and accessible explanations of art terms.” (Oxford Art Online)

Visit the Articles & Databases page to access Oxford Art Online.  

If off-campus, Pratt users will need to enter their OneKey login information.

Art & Architecture Librarian

Get Research Help

Librarians at Pratt want to help you with your research :)  Here's how to contact us: 

  • Chat-w/-A-Librarian
    Chat online with a librarian (Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm).
  • Ask-A-Librarian
    Call, email, or visit our Reference Desk :)

    Brooklyn: (718) 636-3704

    Manhattan: (212) 647-7539

    Email: libref@pratt.edu

    Location: The Reference Desk is on the 1st Floor of the Brooklyn Library.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip