This is the "Home" page of the "E-Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-Books  

A guide to using e-books on the EBSCO platform at Pratt
Last Updated: Oct 11, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reading EBSCO eBooks on Mobile Devices

Before reading an EBSCO eBook on a mobile device,  you must open the item in Adobe Digital Editions on your computer.

Once the item is open in Digital Editions, you can transfer eBook pages to your Kindle device by following these instructions.

For Apple and Android devices, you can export pages to the BlueFire reader.

For additional EBSCO eBook support, see their support pages.

eBook Collections @Pratt

  • EBSCO E-Book Collection
    A collection of electronic books covering a broad range of academic subject and topic areas.
  • JSTOR
    Books at JSTOR offers more than 45,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR's platform.
  • Project MUSE - Premium Collection  
      
    The University Press Content Consortium (UPCC) launched in 2012. UPCC Books on Project MUSE offer thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from major university presses and scholarly publishers and allow books to be discovered and searched in an integrated environment with content from over 500 journals currently on MUSE.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    More than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 publishers for research across many disciplines.
 

Using the EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Enter the EBSCO eBook collection by going to our Articles & Databases page, or click here.

You can see all of the available titles by clicking on View All in the highlights box.

When you click on a title, you'll see the table of contents. You can browse through this and read the title in your browser. If you want to download the book, click the link on the left.

 

What if the eBook is Unavailable?

Items in the EBSCO eBook collection can only be used by one person at a time. If someone has the book checked out, it will not be available for download or reading online. When you try to read the book, you'll get a message like this:

You can sign in and place yourself in the hold queue so that you'll have a chance to use it when the current loan period has expired (maximum of 2 weeks).

 

Using Pratt's eBook Collection

Here's what you need to know about using ebooks at the Pratt Institute Libraries:

eBooks are digital versions of print books.

It's a different process than downloading ebooks for personal use. The process also differs depending on which particular collection you are using. This guide provides directions for accessing and downloading ebooks within each of our ebook collections.

All eBooks are not the same! Different ebook publishers specialize in different subject areas. 

This means that the library acquires ebooks from a number of different publishers and vendors. And often these vendors have different policies on Digital Rights Management.

Digital Rights Management (DRM) systems control how digital content is used. These systems are set by the vendor or publisher, and determine things like:

  • whether more than one person at a time can view an ebook
  • whether the ebook can be downloaded
  • how much can be downloaded or printed
  • whether there is a time limit for viewing an ebook
  • what devices or programs can support the ebook's format or file type


Students, faculty and staff with a Onekey have access to thousands of eBooks through our system for free. They can be accessed them from on and off-campus. eBooks can be used on iPads, laptops, e-readers, etc. However, there are compatibility issues with certain devices and collections. When you download a book, you may have to create accounts, add programs, or be subject to a loan period. You also want to be sure to download the book to the device you plan to read from, as transferring files is not always possible. Your best bet is to read from your computer browser.
Some Pratt eBooks restrict the number of simultaneous users so that only one person can access the book at a time. If you find that an eBook you need is already in use, LET US KNOW. We're happy to explore options and potentially add more copies to the collection.
Some Pratt ebooks are restricted to a loan period. Times for loan periods can vary, but normally the length of the loan will be 7 or 14 days. After your loan period has past, the book will expire automatically and no longer be available on your device.
Pratt eBooks can be accessed via WorldCat Discovery. Start your search there, then use this LibGuide for additional viewing and downloading directions for each ebook provider.

 

Downloading an EBSCO eBook

1. When viewing a title, the link to download the item will appear on the left. Click it.

2. You'll be prompted to either sign in or create an EBSCOhost account.

3. When you complete the sign in or account creation, you'll come to a screen like this:

4. Choose the minimum number of days you'll need the item. It will be unavailable to other users while you have it checked out.

5. After selecting the number of days, click Checkout & Download. Your item should download automatically.

6. You must have Adobe Digital Editions installed in order to view it or transfer it to other devices.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip