Finding and Using 16mm Films
This is the "About the Collection" page of the "Film and Video at the Pratt Institute Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film and Video at the Pratt Institute Libraries   Tags: film, video  

Last Updated: Jun 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/filmcollection Print Guide RSS Updates

About the Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New in VMR!

Want to watch a film from our collection?  Don’t have a DVD drive in your laptop or computer?  VMR is now circulating DVD drives for seven days at a time from the DVD circulation desk.  Borrow one and make it a movie night!

 

New to the Collection

Recently Added to the Catalog

Cover Art
Side by side : can film survive our digital future? - Chris Kenneally
Publication Date: 2013
Join Keanu Reeves on a tour of the past and the future of filmmaking in Side by side. Since the invention of cinema, the standard format for recording moving images has been film. Over the past two decades, a new form of digital filmmaking has emerged, creating a groundbreaking evolution in the medium. Reeves explores the development of cinema and the impact of digital filmmaking via in-depth interviews with Hollywood masters.

 

About the Collection

The Pratt Institute Libraries make available to faculty, students, and staff an extensive film and video collection of over 6,000 unique titles to support teaching and learning through the Visual and Multimedia Resources (VMR) department. The collection of  DVDs, VHS tapes, 16mm films, and other assorted formats are available for circulation and viewing on the Lower Level of the Library. Screening rooms are also available through VMR. The collection can be searched in PrattCat, the Library's online catalog.  The physical collection is supplemented by a streaming video subscriptions through Alexander Street Press and Kanopy.

 

New Title on Streaming

I Am Not Your Negro (Kino Lorber)

An Oscar-nominated documentary narrated by Samuel L. Jackson, I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO explores the continued peril America faces from institutionalized racism.

Click photo for video

 

James Baldwin Related Titles on DVD

Cover Art
Looking for Langston: a meditation on Langston Hughes and the Harlem Renaissance
Publication Date: 1989
This self-described meditation on the life of Harlem Renaissance poet Langston Hughes addresses the possible, possibly imagined, life of the author as a gay man. Both documentary and fantasy, it blends archival footage with black and white paeans to a life that might have been--a Harlem nightclub from the 1920s, a London nightspot from the late eighties, various dream sequences--foregrounding gay sexual desire, constructed of a mélange of materials. Looking for Langston is not a mainstream film, but a short film, an avant-garde film, a gay film, and a black British film. Indeed, the prospect of viewing the film can be an off-putting one, considering its competing narrative lines as documentary, reclamation of an aspect of black history, rumination on the AIDS crisis, or pure fantasy.

Cover Art
What Happened, Miss Simone?
Publication Date: 2015
Profiles the life and career of American singer Nina Simone. Includes interviews with James Baldwin.

 

James Baldwin on 16mm

My Childhood: James Baldwin (25 minutes,  Benchmark Films, 1964.)

James Baldwin recounts his bitter memories of a brutal childhood in Harlem.

VMR Contact

Profile Image
Visual and Multimedia Resources (VMR)
Contact Info
Pratt Institute Libraries
Library Lower Level
200 Willoughby Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11205
718-399-4356
video.library@pratt.edu

Administrative Hours: 9-5 M-F
Circulation: See Regular Library Hours
Send Email

Suggest a Purchase

VMR collects films and videos relevant to the Pratt community’s academic needs, but also to promote the relaxation and intellectual and artistic development of the student body. Members of the Pratt community are encouraged to suggest new titles by emailing video.library@pratt.edu or submitting a request through our online Material Request Form. Preference is given to titles that will be used regularly in classes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip