Renew a BookPlace a Hold
Library HistoryA Guide to Our Shelves
Databases
BooksArticlesDatabasesMoviesImagesThesesArtists' Books
This is the "Research Help" page of the "Welcome to Pratt Institute Libraries!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome to Pratt Institute Libraries!   Tags: how to find, libraries, library account, multimedia services, orientation, visual resources center, welcome  

Get acquainted with Pratt Institute Libraries' tools to help you find what you need.
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/welcome Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Help Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Librarians: We're Here to Help

Visiting the library can be daunting, but we're here to help you sort through it all. Come visit us at the Reference Desk, open whenever the Library's open.

Reference Desk
libref@pratt.edu
(718) 636-3704

Kate McDermott
Evening & Weekend Librarian
kmcdermo@pratt.edu
(718) 399-4565

Cheryl Costello
Art & Architecture Librarian
ccostel5@pratt.edu
(718) 636-3531
 
Bill McMillin
Emerging Technologies Librarian
wmcmilli@pratt.edu 
(718) 636-3680
 
Maggie Portis
Art & Architecture Librarian
mportis@pratt.edu
(718) 636-3714
 
Paul Schlotthauer
Librarian and Archivist
pschlott@pratt.edu
(718) 636-3686
 
Holly Wilson
Research & Instruction Librarian
hwilson5@pratt.edu
(718) 636-3685
 
Jean Hines
Coordinator of Information Services
Pratt Manhattan Center #410
jhines@pratt.edu
(212) 647-7547

We're here for YOU.  

 

Ask a Pratt Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Guides

These guides (like this one) are created by Pratt's reference librarians for specific departments or classes, as a way to collect all the relevant information about a topic in one place.

A-Z Resource List
by Bill McMillin, Maggie Portis - Last Updated Oct 6, 2017
This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
213 views this year
Alumni & the Pratt Libraries
by Lore Guilmartin - Last Updated Jul 21, 2016
Alumni privileges, theses, and Friends.
92 views this year
Anna Banana Exhibit
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Feb 9, 2016
57 views this year
Annotated Bibliographies
by Pratt Admin - Last Updated Nov 1, 2016
Tips and resources about writing annotated bibliographies. This guide is aimed towards research about art and architecture.
545 views this year
Architecture Research
by Maggie Portis - Last Updated Jan 15, 2013
559 views this year
Art History
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Oct 4, 2017
This guide will help you with research related to art history. For thesis information, see the "Thesis Help" section of this guide.
712 views this year
Art of the Book Exhibit
by Cheryl Costello, Bill McMillin - Last Updated Nov 27, 2012
22 views this year
Artists' Books
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Oct 27, 2017
This guide will help you with research related to artists' books. The Pratt Libraries Artists' Books Collection is highlighted. Resources at Pratt and beyond are offered.
301 views this year
Artstor Basics
by Johanna Bauman - Last Updated Aug 18, 2017
Getting the most out of the Artstor Digital Library and the Pratt Institute Libraries' growing collection of digital images.
297 views this year
Artstor For Faculty
by Johanna Bauman, Visual and Media Resources Staff - Last Updated Jul 28, 2017
A guide for faculty to get the most out of Artstor's tools and services.
48 views this year
Big Data and Privacy
by Jean Hines - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
A resource guide for understanding Big Data and its impact on information privacy. All books are available at the PMC library.
44 views this year
Bots
by Bill McMillin - Last Updated Aug 22, 2013
12 views this year
Brooklyn Campus Library Stacks Guide
by Lore Guilmartin - Last Updated Jul 21, 2016
The Pratt Brooklyn Campus Library covers a range of subjects with a focus on fine arts, architecture, interior design and fashion. Additional collections include periodicals, picture files, fiction and reference.
12 views this year
Campaign and Election Data
by Jean Hines - Last Updated Oct 4, 2016
A guide to open access and freely available U.S. campaign and election data at the local, state and federal levels.
93 views this year
Citing Sources
by Cheryl Costello, Bill McMillin, Maggie Portis, Paul Schlotthauer, Holly Wilson - Last Updated Oct 11, 2017
How to cite sources in different formats
362 views this year
Color Concepts
by Cheryl Costello, Bill McMillin - Last Updated Aug 30, 2013
Color concepts & how it informs the creative process.
17 views this year
Communications Design
by Maggie Portis - Last Updated Oct 30, 2017
14 views this year
Copyright Resources
by Johanna Bauman, Bill McMillin, Maggie Portis - Last Updated Jul 1, 2016
A guide to the tricky world of copyright: what is covered, what is not, and how to tell the difference.
123 views this year
Creative Arts Therapy
by Holly Wilson - Last Updated Feb 6, 2017
A guide to library research resources and thesis guidelines for Creative Arts Therapy.
778 views this year
Creative Entrepreneurship
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Feb 23, 2015
This guide will assist creatives in locating materials related to entrepreneurship and business.
25 views this year
Decoding Digital
by Russ Abell, Lore Guilmartin - Last Updated Jul 21, 2016
35 views this year
Digital Arts
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Sep 6, 2017
This guide will help you with research related to the digital arts. For thesis information, see the "Thesis Help" section of this guide.
212 views this year
Digital Image Resources at the Pratt Institute Libraries
by Johanna Bauman - Last Updated Oct 6, 2017
2,046 views this year
Dinosaurs at Pratt Libraries
by Lore Guilmartin - Last Updated Jul 21, 2016
A PrattQuest guide to dinosaurs in the Pratt collection.
16 views this year
Diversity at Pratt: Resources for Research, Learning & Teaching
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Feb 23, 2015
This guide will help Pratt students, faculty and staff access diversity-related resources both on and off-campus.
91 views this year
Donating Materials to the Pratt Libraries
by Cindy Wolff - Last Updated Dec 16, 2013
A guideline to assist potential donors, describing our policies and criteria, with access to forms and templates to help process your gifts.
12 views this year
E-Books
by Johanna Bauman - Last Updated Oct 11, 2016
A guide to using e-books on the EBSCO platform at Pratt
39 views this year
ENG 100: Freshman English Research Guide
by Holly Wilson - Last Updated Aug 29, 2017
302 views this year
ENG 102 - Library Research
by Holly Wilson - Last Updated Aug 29, 2017
21 views this year
Entrepreneurial & Career Resources
by Cheryl Costello, Bill McMillin - Last Updated Feb 26, 2015
20 views this year
Equipment at the Pratt Institute Libraries
by Visual and Media Resources Staff - Last Updated Aug 23, 2017
467 views this year
Faculty Library Guide
by Amy Ballmer, Cheryl Costello, Maggie Portis, Paul Schlotthauer, Holly Wilson - Last Updated Sep 19, 2017
What new faculty need to know about the libraries
278 views this year
Fashion Design
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Nov 6, 2017
723 views this year
Film
by Johanna Bauman, Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Sep 12, 2017
67 views this year
Film and Video at the Pratt Institute Libraries
by Visual and Media Resources Staff - Last Updated Nov 17, 2017
3,674 views this year
Finding and Using 16mm Films at the Pratt Institute Libraries
by Visual and Media Resources Staff - Last Updated Oct 18, 2017
This guide provides an overview of the 16mm films located in the Pratt Libraries collection and how to care for them.
284 views this year
Fine Arts
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Nov 6, 2017
This guide will help you do research related to the fine arts & offers MFA thesis help.
977 views this year
Freshman Common Experience 2017
by Lore Guilmartin, Pratt Librarians - Last Updated Aug 21, 2017
Links and Basic Information from the Library Orientation Sessions
946 views this year
Friends of the Library
by Pratt Librarians, Bill McMillin - Last Updated Sep 13, 2013
What you can do as a Friend of Pratt Institute Libraries.
28 views this year
Graduate Thesis Guide
by Lore Guilmartin - Last Updated Apr 7, 2017
The libraries' advice and requirements for graduate theses.
1,325 views this year
Graphic Novels
by Elizabeth Berg, Library Grad Assistant, Holly Wilson - Last Updated Apr 2, 2017
76 views this year
HA 115 (Survey I): Themes in Art & Culture
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Feb 6, 2015
This guide will help you perform like a ROCK STAR in class! Learn how to brainstorm search terms, find images, locate books and articles, cite sources, avoid plagiarism & more!
31 views this year
Hang Together: Collaborative Work and Practices
by Pratt Admin - Last Updated Jan 29, 2016
9 views this year
Health Literacy
by Elizabeth Berg - Last Updated Oct 26, 2016
28 views this year
HMS 101
by Cheryl Costello, Maggie Portis, Paul Schlotthauer, Holly Wilson - Last Updated Oct 3, 2017
458 views this year
Interior Design Guide to Research
by Maggie Portis - Last Updated Mar 11, 2015
577 views this year
Interlibrary Loan
by Nick Dease, Bill McMillin - Last Updated Oct 27, 2014
How to access interlibrary loan materials through Pratt Institute Libraries.
35 views this year
Jewelry
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Nov 6, 2017
This guide will help you find books, articles and images as well as avoid plagiarism, cite your sources and more!
138 views this year
Latin American Art
by Pratt Librarians - Last Updated Jun 3, 2016
220 views this year
Lee Friedlander: The Printed Picture
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Jan 29, 2016
79 views this year
LGBTQ+ Resource Guide
by Elizabeth Berg - Last Updated Jun 8, 2016
110 views this year
LGBTQIA Pride Month Exhibit
by Jean Hines - Last Updated Jun 13, 2013
June, 2013
35 views this year
Library Buildings & Design
by Maggie Portis - Last Updated Sep 3, 2015
Sources and tips for researching the design of libraries and some important precedents.
73 views this year
Lynda.com at Pratt Institute Libraries
by Bill McMillin - Last Updated Apr 9, 2016
A guide to registering for and using Lynda.com through the Pratt Institute Libraries
1,715 views this year
Maps and GIS
by Maggie Portis - Last Updated Jan 29, 2016
How to find and use maps and other geospatial resources at Pratt and beyond.
274 views this year
Materials Research
by Cheryl Costello, Maggie Portis - Last Updated Sep 12, 2017
Resources to help artists and designers with materials research.
252 views this year
Paper Art & Engineering
by Cheryl Costello - Last Updated Jan 27, 2014
This guide will help you locate materials at the Pratt Libraries (and beyond) related to paper art & engineering, pop-ups and origami. Happy hunting!
168 views this year
Pop-Up Books
by Cheryl Costello, Bill McMillin, Maggie Portis - Last Updated Apr 22, 2014
Because books are better in 3-D.
117 views this year
Privacy & Security Online
by Elizabeth Berg - Last Updated Mar 28, 2017
69 views this year
Programs for Sustainable Planning & Development (PSPD) Resources
by Maggie Portis - Last Updated Sep 12, 2017
144 views this year
Reviews, and How to Find Them
by Bill McMillin - Last Updated Apr 24, 2014
How to track down reviews of books, films, music, art, and other reviewable things.
15 views this year
School of Information
by Mia Bruner - Last Updated Aug 24, 2017
Get acquainted with resources available at PMC to help you with your research at the School of Information!
636 views this year
Special Collections Images
by Johanna Bauman - Last Updated Nov 2, 2017
In addition to its digital, slide, and picture collections, the Visual Resources Center maintains a number of special collections related to the history of art and design.
578 views this year
Street Transvestite Action Revolutionaries (STAR)Research Guide
by Mia Bruner - Last Updated Jun 19, 2017
A guide on Street Transvestite Action Revolutionaries we made for 2016 Pride. STAR made a huge impact in the Gay Liberation movement, advocated for gay rights and was one of the first attempts to address the needs of homeless trans youth in New York.
193 views this year
SUST 201 The Sustainable Core
by Holly Wilson - Last Updated Feb 27, 2017
Research guide to assist students in SUST 201 with their annotated bibliography.
80 views this year
SUST401 Power, Pollution, and Profit
by Holly Wilson - Last Updated Feb 28, 2017
33 views this year
SUST405 - Production, Consumption, and Waste
by Holly Wilson - Last Updated Sep 27, 2017
27 views this year
Sustainable Production Methods
by Maggie Portis - Last Updated Jan 27, 2016
114 views this year
The Collections on View: Selected works from the Pratt Institute Libraries' Archives, Rare Books, & Special Collections
by Elizabeth Berg, Library Grad Assistant - Last Updated Jul 12, 2013
This guide accompanies the exhibit The Collections on View, on display at Pratt Institute's Brooklyn campus library from May 2013 through August 2013.
38 views this year
The Pop-Up Art of Sam Ita
by Pratt Librarians, Bill McMillin - Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
A preview exhibit of the pop-up art of Sam Ita is now on display at the Pratt Institute Libraries. Full exhibit will begin in August 2012.
22 views this year
The Research Process
by Bill McMillin - Last Updated Nov 5, 2012
The basics of researching and refining a topic.
110 views this year
Website Outage
by Nick Dease - Last Updated Jun 15, 2016
151 views this year
Welcome to Pratt Institute Libraries!
by Lore Guilmartin - Last Updated Jul 21, 2016
Get acquainted with Pratt Institute Libraries' tools to help you find what you need.
891 views this year
Zines
by Holly Wilson - Last Updated Nov 3, 2012
Resource on finding Zines at Pratt Institute Libraries and information about Zines
46 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip