Renew a BookPlace a Hold
Library HistoryA Guide to Our Shelves
Databases
BooksArticlesDatabasesMoviesImagesThesesArtists' Books
This is the "Articles" page of the "Welcome to Pratt Institute Libraries!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome to Pratt Institute Libraries!   Tags: how to find, libraries, library account, multimedia services, orientation, visual resources center, welcome  

Get acquainted with Pratt Institute Libraries' tools to help you find what you need.
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/welcome Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find an Article

The Brooklyn Campus Library subscribes to approximately 600 magazines and journals in print. Current periodicals are located on the 2nd Floor. Bound back issues of periodicals are located in the 2nd Floor Reading Rooms and 2nd Mezzanine stacks (art & architecture) and the lower level of the stacks (general and non-art).

The Manhattan Campus Library subscribes to over 150 magazines and journals in print. Current periodicals are located on the wall to the left of the main entrance. (Some periodicals are located behind the Circulation Desk, where you must request the current issue). Bound back issues are in the main stacks.

To locate articles available in print at the Library, on a particular subject, by a particular author, date or periodical, consult our online databases for citations. To find articles in popular magazines, especially articles published before the early 1980's, use the print Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (050 R28), located in the Brooklyn Campus Library, on the 1st floor (recent years) and 3rd floor (older years).

How do I find the databases?

The easiest way to get to the databases list is the "Quick Links" on the right side of the webpage. You can also use the Find Resources tab at the top to get to a link to the databases page and to other resources.

      
     

    Finding Articles

    This video gives you an example of how to search for and read articles through the libraries' databases. To enlarge the video, click on the bottom right corner of the player.

    Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.
     

    Finding E-Journals

    Use the E-Journals search, via the link on library.pratt.edu, to see if we have a digital subscription to a journal.


    The E-Journals search lets you search by title or ISSN (a journal's serial number).

    Searching for a title will return results showing what databases the journal can be found in, and the span of issues available, known as "holdings". For example, the New Yorker is available through multiple databases, such as Academic OneFile and Popular Magazines, and our digital holdings all begin in 2003, which would indicate that the New Yorker does not offer electronic subscriptions to its archives before that year.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip