Skip to main content

Artists' Books: Articles - Databases

This guide will help you with research related to artists' books. The Pratt Libraries Artists' Books Collection is highlighted. Resources at Pratt and beyond are offered.

Magazines & Journals - Book Arts

Several journals and magazines on the fine arts & crafts will offer articles related to artists' books and similar publications. The best way to search for articles on a topic is to use databases. For assistance with searching databases, please Ask-a-Librarian, as we're happy to help!

The Pratt Libraries offer the following book arts-specific publications.

Click on the link to view the PrattCat record--this will help you determine a print journal's location & availability.

Check our E-Journal search for electronic access to a magazine or journal.

Where to Access Databases

The easiest way to get to the Libraries' databases list is the "Quick Links" on the right side of the webpage. You can also use the Find Resources tab at the top to get to a link to the databases page and to other resources.

Get Research Help

Librarians at Pratt want to help you with your research :)  Here's how to contact us: 

Art-Related Databases

The library catalog lists books and journals, not the chapters or articles inside them.

To find articles on a particular topic, use electronic databases (periodical indexes).

Make sure you capture the full citation (including article title, author, journal title, volume, number, month, year, pages), so that you can find the article within a print or electronic journal and cite it later.

Humanities & Multi-Disciplinary Databases

To find articles on a particular topic, use electronic databases (periodical indexes).

Make sure you capture the full citation (including article title, author, journal title, volume, number, month, year, pages), so that you can find the article within a print or electronic journal and cite it later.