The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the "Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion," e-books, reference works, images, and more. This resource is useful for both fashion design & costume history research, depending on what you seek.
The Berg Fashion Library offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
This collection will bring together at completion over 1,200 hours of videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide. Students and researchers can access a remarkable collection covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.
A comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of the Harper's Bazaar US and UK editions, from 1867 to the present. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource comprises a chronicle of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Vogue offers a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
The Vogue Archive contains the backfile of Vogue magazine (US edition), spanning the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
The complete run of Vogue Italia – one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue – from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Vogue Italia’s appeal and influence is international, with almost half of its print issues typically being sold outside of Italy.
WGSN is a leading forecasting resource for trend content and design tools. Use WGSN as an aid for your design research by accessing trend information, finding inspiration, and sharing content. As a current student, staff or faculty member, first-time users can quickly and easily register for a personal account.
Use your Pratt email address to create and access your account in WGSN.
For instructions on accessing WGSN, click on the tab "WGSN" in this guide.
Please Remember: Login to Stylesight every 90 days to keep your account active. This resource is most useful for contemporary design research, and offers coverage of vintage clothing images for costume history research.
WGSN is the leading resource for trend content, tools and technology. Use WGSN to aid in your creative learning process by researching, developing, and sharing. As a current student, staff, or faculty you can quickly and easily register for an account.
Distinguished by its international coverage of scientific, trade, technical, and economic publications, World Textiles covers more than four decades of information relating to developments and innovations in the textile industry.
WWD is widely considered the ‘Wall St Journal’ of the fashion industry. The WWD Archive covers the 1st issue from 1910 to the present year. Issues are reproduced from cover to cover in high-resolution color. WWD is a unique record of the twentieth century US and international fashion and beauty business. The Archive preserves one of the industry’s most influential reads, tracing day-to-day news, opinion, and socio-economic trends, from runway reports to beauty product reviews.
A comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women’s Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
More Databases for Fashion Design
For all available databases at Pratt Libraries, check out Databases.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals.
Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more
The Videofashion collection included here offers over 1,200 hours of streaming videos, retracing the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide. Access a remarkable collection covering major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments cover events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.
Full-text magazine archives spanning the fields of art and architecture.
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.
ARTstor is an image database that offers high-quality, high-resolution images related to the fields of design, art and architecture. This resource is useful for both fashion design & costume history research, depending on what you seek.
The Artstor Digital Library is the most extensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use. Our collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, offering many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
BHA & RILA together cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. This resource is most useful for costume history research, but also can be useful for fashion design research, depending on what you seek.
The Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. A list of periodicals indexed is available. Updated monthly.
Emerald Management offers articles related to the business side of fashion. Fashion industry articles cover such topics as branding, consumerism, globalization, product development, etc. This resource is useful for both fashion design & costume history research, depending on what you seek.
A wide range of serials, series and books in library science, management and related fields. A list of periodicals indexed is available.
Access streaming videos offering how-to help for software applications related to fashion design.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the Lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
An online database of over 1,400 materials and processes of the latest materials typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. For architecture, interiors, furniture design, sports related design, consumer product design, apparel, automotive design, aerospace, military, medical, environmental design.
The New York Times offers news articles related to fashion. Historical coverage of full-text articles & images dates back to 1851, and continues through 2009. This resource is useful for both fashion design & costume history research, depending on what you seek.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
A multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six full-text databases.
A multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Also included, when available, are full-text articles from five additional periodical databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Composed of 4 Reference Books: Grove Art Encyclopedia, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics & Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Contains over 41,000 articles on world-wide art, design & architecture as well as images.
Composed of Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics & Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Contains over 41,000 articles on the art and architecture of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas and the Pacific, with links to images and further information in museum and other art-related web sites.
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.