This is the "Home" page of the "Artists' Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide will help you with research related to artists' books. The Pratt Libraries Artists' Books Collection is highlighted. Resources at Pratt and beyond are offered.
Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/artistsbooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books on Artists' Books

The Pratt Libraries offer many books related to artists' books. Search for books in our online catalog, PrattCat.

Click on a book image or link to view its PrattCat record--this will help you determine its location & availability.

 

Was This Guide Helpful?




 

The Pratt Libraries Artists' Books Collection

"The Artists' Books Collection encompasses books crafted, published, produced or altered by an artist, including works resulting from an artist's collaboration with artist-run organizations, colleges, universities, galleries, and museums. The collection also includes non-book works that represent a conceptual renegotiation of the traditional book form. Works in the collection date from 1960 to the present." Pratt Libraries Web site

 

"Artists' Books"

Artists' books aren't always referred to as "artists' books." Depending on a variety of factors like binding (if any), materials used, processes employed, etc., different terms can be used to refer to artists' publications. The following terms are commonly used to name different types of artists' publications. 

These terms can be used when searching for books in PrattCatarticles in Pratt Libraries Databases, and information on the Web.

altered book

artist's book

artists' books

artists' periodicals

artist's publication

book art

book object

bookwork

democratic multiple

fine press book

livre d'artiste

photobook

pop-up book

sculptural book

zine

I believe it was William Shakespeare who once said, "An artist's book by any other name is as sweet." The Pratt Libraries Artists' Books Collection offers a variety of artist's book types.

 

Artist's Book Glossary

Not sure what "colophon" or another book art term means?

Use this Artist Book Glossary care of the the Montana State University Library Special Collections.

 

Suggest an Artist's Book

Did you do a PrattCat (online catalog) search, and didn't find an artist's book that you think we should own?

Use the Pratt Libraries' Purchase Request Form to make your request! A librarian will be in touch with you after your request is submitted.

 

Collaborate With Us!

Is there a print or online resource that you think should be featured on this guide?

Click on "Submit" below to share your recommendation. Thanks!

Art & Architecture Librarian

Profile Image
Cheryl Costello
Contact Info
email: ccostel5@pratt.edu
phone: (718) 636-3531

Get Help

  • Chat-w/-A-Librarian
    Chat online with a librarian (Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm).
  • Ask-A-Librarian
    Call, email, or visit our Reference Desk :)

    Brooklyn: (718) 636-3704

    Manhattan: (212) 647-7539

    Email: libref@pratt.edu

    Location: The Reference Desk is on the 1st Floor of the Brooklyn Library.

The Digital Artist's Book

Wondering about artists' books on the e-edge?

  • lightbinders
    Artists' books with embedded electronics. Participating in this project is Pratt Digital Arts professor, Linda Lauro-Lazin.
  • Page Turning in the Digital Age
    This blog entry discusses e-book page turning technology.

  • Pulp to Pixels Exhibit  
      
    Check out images from the "Pulp to Pixels" exhibit held in 2012 at Hampshire College in Massachusetts.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip